Great Lakes Center For The Arts
231.439.2600 VIEW CART
Back To Events
+ Share

The Cummings Quartet Recital

Sunday, September 27, 2020
4:00 pm
Great Lakes Center for the Arts
800 Bay Harbor Drive
Petoskey, MI 49770

Join the Cummings Quartet for a free, socially-distanced, recital including powerful and moving pieces by Mozart and Smetana.

The Cummings Quartet is the resident ensemble of the Dorothy Gerber Strings Program, an educational program of the Center. Members David Reimer, Iuliia Fetysenko, Trisha Berquist, and Elizabeth Bert are professional musicians who perform regularly throughout Northern Michigan, including for the Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra and Traverse Symphony Orchestra. This recital will debut the newest member of the quartet, Trisha Berquist. The quartet is a major artistic presence in the Petoskey area, providing several concerts for the community each year. In addition to performing, the Cummings Quartet enjoys mentoring students through the Dorothy Gerber Strings Program, teaching privately and in the public schools.

An in-depth look at the pieces being performed:

Mozart's String Quartet in C Major, Dissonance, is the last in a set of 6 quartets dedicated to Haydn, the "father of the string quartet," whom Mozart greatly admired. The quartet shows the kind of drama and contrast that we see in Mozart's Operas. The term "Dissonance" arose in the title because of a strong clash of notes in the slow introduction at the very beginning of the first movement. This disturbing passage expresses anguish and pain, and is a dramatic fake out to the arrival of the following sunny and joyous Allegro section. Throughout the work Mozart displays exciting contrasts that pave the way for the following Romantic composers.

Smetana's String Quartet in E minor, From My Life, is an autobiographical tale. It is full of youthful exuberance, profound love, joy, and ultimately loss. The viola is featured in the opening yearning melody, which was originally performed by the renowned romantic composer Dvorák. The last movement is famous for its high, whistling 'E' harmonic, showing the encroaching deafness that would come to Smetana. The beginning and end are somber, but overall the quartet is full of joyous music and uplifting sentiments.


  • Theater
  • Dance
  • Music
  • Intellectual Dialogue
  • Movies & Film
  • Education